EU confirms ban on American travelers as US scrambles to contain coronavirus


The European Union has confirmed that American residents won’t be allowed to enter its borders because the bloc begins to ease journey restrictions imposed earlier this yr in response to the pandemic. Travelers from America, in addition to Brazil and Russia, have been barred from entry due to their international locations’ lack of ability to comprise the unfold of the coronavirus.

Citizens from 14 nations, together with Canada, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, and China — topic to a pending reciprocal settlement — will all be allowed entry for the primary time since March because the EU makes an attempt to rejuvenate the continent’s very important tourism trade.

Despite the urgent financial want, although, the EU has judged that permitting US vacationers again in is just too dangerous. America’s fee of an infection is just too excessive, and the response from the Trump administration has not reassured the consultants that it will change anytime quickly. The US instituted its personal travel ban for guests from Ireland and the 26-country Schengen frequent journey space (which incorporates 22 EU nations) in March.

Although America was hit comparatively late by the pandemic, it’s since turn out to be the worldwide epicenter, as a result of what consultants have criticized as a confused and haphazard response. President Trump repeatedly downplayed the severity of the pandemic, claiming in February, for instance, that the virus was “very much under control”; that the US would “pretty soon” have only a handful of instances; and that the illness would disappear “like a miracle.”

Months later, the US now has greater than 2.5 million confirmed instances of COVID-19 and greater than 126,000 deaths, making it the worst-hit nation on this planet, in keeping with the newest information from Johns Hopkins University Coronavirus Resource Center. Cases have additionally surged within the US in current weeks, triggering some states to reverse plans to reopen companies.

Brazil, Russia, and India, residents of which have additionally been banned from coming into the EU, are the subsequent three greatest hotspots for the pandemic. Brazil, by comparability, the most important web site of the virus after the US, has some 1.three million infections and greater than 58,000 deaths.

The journey ban by the EU does make some allowances for vacationers with “an essential function or need.” This consists of well being care professionals, diplomats, seasonal agricultural employees, and “third-country nationals traveling for the purpose of study.”

The full checklist international locations whose residents at the moment are allowed entry to the EU is as follows: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay. The checklist will likely be reviewed each two weeks.